The Act of Judging

To Judge

Definition; verb

To form an opinion or a conclusion. The act of estimating ones worth or quality. 

It is in our basic instinct to judge, to look at a person and form an opinion of their character and social standings. In a way it takes us back to the very core of our being, to the days when ones outside appearance was a direct reflection to their inner beauty (or lack of as the case may be).

Personally, I feel we do it as a means of protection in life, a way to make ourselves feel secure among the unknown. Take a second to reflect on your day, maybe you went to school or mooched around town,you may have seen a
friend or slaved for hours at the office. Think of  the people you saw. Reflect upon your own inner monologue, now imagine one of these for every person whose path you crossed today. It is a scary thought.

It is a turn of phrase to say that a person’s world revolves around them, but in truth it is a statement of fact. We form judgements of people because the act of hearing everybody’s internal monologue is just to great a task. Judging people is just a coping mechanism, to help us deal with the pure varsity of the world.

Judging in itself is not a negative act. I will be the first and certainly not the last to say that I judge people and in turn expect people to form judgements of me. People will judge on my hair, clothes, vocabulary, conversations on buses, my facebook page and to try to avoid this is just stupid, because I myself do the same, openly.

However, it is when we let these judgements prevent us from forming fact based opinions of people and experiences that we had committed an injustice onto ourselves. In order to fully experience life a man must embrace it fully and head on. Maybe it is fear that holds us back or the humility of having to admit to misjudgeing someone, but in doing so we all stop ourselves from stepping out of the comfort zone of our heads and seeing what life has to offer.

I will not judge you for judging, but I will think less of you for acting purely upon those judgements.

I think that is the reason I have started this blog. To write not only of my observations and judgements made (a way of logging my inner monologue) but also admitting where my judgements were wrong. Here I will record my thoughts, comments and experiences in what I hope will me a semi comedic and insightful manner, although this I have little faith in.

So if you read this thank you. I will not ask you not to judge me, but will ask that you are kind in your judgements.

Catty

2 thoughts on “The Act of Judging

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am very new to blogs and absolutely liked your page. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You certainly have really good posts. Regards for revealing your web page.

Share your thoughts.....

